Learning to Loosen Up

I am such a planner. I really prefer to have a plan for doing things, and rarely just do something off-the-cuff. The absolute most impetuous thing I’ve ever done is go see Singin’ in the Rain on a moment’s notice last Summer. I learned that it would be playing on the big screen – for just one night! –  just before 4 PM, learned in the next 10 minutes that the only movie theater doing so near us was about an hour and a half away, and was out the door by 4:30 with my two girls to make the 7:30 show. (I even had plans that evening and ditched them.) It was scary and crazy and … really a lot of fun. The best part of the evening was sneaking in peeks at my dancer as she watched Gene Kelly, Don O’Conner, and Debby Reynolds hoof it, larger than life.

I learned that spontaneity doesn’t actually kill a person, even if it makes you really uncomfortable and nervous, and that your kids get to have fun at unscheduled times and love you for it.

Since that night, I’ve made a conscious effort to be more spontaneous and let go of my plans. Or adjust them. Usually adjust them. What kind of crazy person has no plans at all???

Yesterday, my older daughter finished her research paper on stained glass windows and as a reward, I took her with her sister to a local library branch that had a Doctor Who day. If you love science fiction and don’t watch Doctor Who, you are missing out on something wonderful. Maybe The Doctor can be the subject of another post this week, but for now, I’ll leave you with pictures from Doctor Who Day at the library, where, in spite of my plans to stay for an hour, we stayed for two. Might have stayed longer, but I had to get to the post office before it closed.

Yeah, I was that wild and crazy yesterday!

Welcome to the Doctor Who Party!

It’s bigger on the inside!

Make your own wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey ball of stuff!

I think I just discovered something I want to find for Christmas: DOCTOR WHO YAHTZEE!!

Grandma-crafted scarf: envy of all the other Whovians!

Seen: The Silence!

Say “Adipose”!

It’s so cute! How can it be bad?

Meanwhile…she keeps seeing them, but can’t describe what they look like!

[insert in this space a picture of my daughter that she doesn’t like so it’s not here but she had all the hashmarks on her arm from seeing The Silence]

Can you see the TARDIS in the wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey ball of stuff?

Close-up of my older daughter’s ball of stuff. Guess who?

See Jennifer’s blog for a list of all participants in the #7for7 Challenge!

3 thoughts on “Learning to Loosen Up

    • It took us about 4-5 shows to really get hooked. My recommendation: Stick with it in order; it’ll start clicking soon. I’m trying to remember which episode it was where it finally clicked for my husband. It took him longer than the girls and I. We pushed on because our dear friends loved it and kept telling us how much fun it was. Now we’re just hooked.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Seven Quick Takes: #7for7 Edition | Domestic Vocation

Comments are closed.