Seven Quick Takes: #7for7 Edition

Seven Quickies: Hobbity EditionWelcome to the 7 for 7  7 Quick Takes! (Maybe I should have called it Post 343.) Jennifer “The Awesome” Fulwiler hosts this shindig ever week, and I’m hoping her Seven Posts in Seven Days Challenge might spur me to participate more often.

Yesterday’s 7 for 7 post was kind of heavy, so this is probably going to be on the lighter side. After all, it’s Friday, right? Let’s lighten up and have fun!

~one~

I’ve been using an app called FlipBoard quite a bit lately, and through a couple of feeds I found there, I’ve been discovering some interesting stuff. The girls and I sat for some of the fastest ten minutes ever and watched this video of dominoes falling. The level of impressiveness is pretty high, and none of us think we have the patience to set up anything even remotely like this.

~two~

Since my older daughter went to Catholic Heart Work Camp in June, we’ve been taking more note of news from Detroit. Of course, since the Motor City just declared bankruptcy, it’s hard to miss them. There are at least two projects that have documented the decline of Detroit and the ruins of the city. The first is The Ruins of Detroit:

United Artists Theater

The other is one I came upon Thursday morning:

St. Agnes Catholic Church – closed in 2006

It’s so sad to look at, but it’s like a train wreck that you can’t take your eyes off of. I think the Detroiturbex site, with its overlays of past pictures over the current state of things was really fascinating. Sad, but fascinating.

~three~

One thing I’ve written about before is the idea that behind statistics (and behind each Twitter or Facebook avi) are people. Real people with real lives and real feelings. I got a bit extra-annoyed this week, and have struggled to maintain my charity over some of it. I think it’s worth repeating: we must always act with charity towards others, especially those we disagree with, if we are to be Christ to them. If we do otherwise, the face they see when they think of Jesus is our own ugly ones, sneering at them. Personally, I worry for when it comes time to answer for my own behavior in this respect, and I’m committed to try to draw attention to the idea that we must resist the urge to be snarky and hateful towards those who disagree with us. Even (or maybe especially) online.

Oh, I suppose that wasn’t really very light, was it? Sorry.

~four~

Yikes!

We reluctantly let our 14 year old have her own Facebook account. She was struggling with feeling lonely, since her friends who are homeschooled don’t live close by, and her public school friends are usually busy with their school stuff, and many of her friends are starting to get jobs. So we set her up, making sure we had her log-in information and that she had a lot of security on her account (private-almost-everything). She gets to log in when her work is done for the day and goof around a bit.

It’s tough as parents of this generation. We had none of this crazy internet for our parents to worry about, and so it’s largely uncharted territory. While we cannot protect our kids from everything forever, there is a daily struggle and tug-of-war over what we expose them to and when. And, naturally, being the protective Catholic parents we are, it’s like we’re swimming upstream. (And sometimes it feels like we’re swimming upstream in a river of muck.)

~five~

Speaking of exposing our kids to stuff, Nathan and I have made the decision to let said 14 year old start watching Firefly, with the understanding that we’ll be calling “EYES!” and muting things occasionally, and that watching Firefly is a with-your-parents-only activity for now. Our kids are total geeks (like us), and we’ve let them watch a single episode together (“Safe“). But since our older daughter is now nearly 15, we wanted to let her in on more of the fun. There’s not much that can beat Joss Whedon’s witty banter, and who doesn’t like Nathan Fillion? (He’s my second-favorite Nathan.)

Nothing says “manly” like a pretty floral bonnet!

~six~

About the only person I can think of who can out-wit Joss Whedon is William Shakespeare. So what happens when the director of The Avengers is stressed out and needs a mental break? He invites his friends over to his house to film a black-and-white version of Much Ado About Nothing with modern clothes and technology and Shakespearean English.

If you have the chance to see this, go. It’s great! You don’t even have to be a really geeky Shakespeare groupie to understand it. After about three minutes, everything kicked in for me, and I could just sit back and relax, enjoying the movie as it went. Nathan laughs at me for this, but I even cried a little at the scene where Hiro’s father, Leonado, is so angry with her. (No spoilers, in case you haven’t read it! Go see it! Go!)

Oh, my! I just watched the UK Trailer. AWESOMESAUCE!

~seven~

I am nervously discerning whether or not I ought to apply for the part-time job of Youth Group Director at our parish. VERY nervously discerning. If I do apply, I think I’ll bring up that I believe the Dead Theologians Society would be a very, very good thing for our parish. I think it fits into helping young men and women become intentional disciples, especially by introducing them to the beauty of the Catholic faith and Her saints. They have a website and information on how to apply for a chapter. If I did apply, and we did create a DTS in our parish, we would be the first chapter in Virginia, according to their website.

If you think of it, please pray that I might know what to do here. I keep saying things like, “Our youth program should…” and suddenly I’m a little afraid that God is telling me that I should step up and quit my complaining. And it’s way easier to complain than it is to step up, especially if you’re introverted and view positions of leadership as something that just might kill you, if the spontaneity doesn’t.

2 thoughts on “Seven Quick Takes: #7for7 Edition

  1. If you’re feeling called, jump in. Working in ministry is very rewarding, if it’s your calling.

    I’m saving the dominoes to watch with my kids, and I couldn’t agree more with this: “we must always act with charity towards others, especially those we disagree with, if we are to be Christ to them.” YES!

    Like

  2. 1. When we lived in Hungary full time, we used to watch Domino Day each year. It was a full evening, with interviews, behind the scenes, history of the event etc, and then the actual domino falling. So much fun. I miss it.

    5. Firlefly is a family affair for us as well. Our ten-year-olds got to watch it with the Hungarian dub, that elminates the need for the mute button.

    BTW, I still have the theory that the Richard Castle books are actually co-authored by Nathan Fillion. I know, wishful thinking.

    Like

Comments are closed.