Seven Quick Takes: All the Blogginess Edition

Here I am, blogging lots in one week! And even getting a Seven Quick Takes up for once. Don’t forget that the lovely and talented Jennifer Fulwiler hosts this series at Conversion Diary.

~one~

I am really trying to work on blogging and writing more consistently. I was getting into a good groove until I went on vacation last month. I had planned on writing a couple of posts in the evenings or during our down time, but when we got to the resort, I realized that the units did not have Wi-Fi! No Wi-Fi meant no blogging, and also meant that I came dangerously close to using up all my data on my cell phone plan. Guess streaming iTunes Radio over the network does that, huh?

~two~

I just realized that last one sounded kind of pretentious on a few levels. Resort. No Wi-Fi! What kind of vacations does this woman TAKE?

Chimney Rock, NC

Well, way back 15 years ago, we bought time share points with a company that’s now owned by Wyndham. So we can use them to travel all over the US, and we’ve done that through the years, staying mostly in the East where we can drive to get places. We’ve really loved it, and have kept it despite Dave Ramsey’s hatred of timeshares. We’re not limited to a week at a particular place. We like going places off-season to save points, and the units we get have full kitchens and washer & dryers, so I cook while we’re there (no eating out except very occasionally) and I come home with very little dirty laundry.

This was key to our being able to go to Orlando for 2 weeks a few years ago. We stayed at Bonnet Creek, cooked most meals in the unit, and had a place to come back and relax in the evenings. We even hosted a dinner for family in our enormous unit (where our mother-in-law even stayed with us for a few nights when she flew in from South Dakota). Since we usually drive to these destinations, I bring food, cookbooks, crock pots, and whatever else I need for the week. (Menu planning also helps me minimize extra expenses.)

~three~

I have a 15 year old now. When people talk about teens these days, they act as though they are nothing but conflict and trouble, with eye-rolling galore and bickering with siblings and glaring at parents. I’ve maintained that to some degree, teens act this way because it’s how they’re expected to act. We’ve always expected that when our girls hit their teen years, they’d act pretty much like before, only with more maturity and responsibility. And that’s been largely true. We’ve had some problems crop up with our kids, but they’re still the same sweet girls we’ve always known, and, while I’m not always thrilled with everything they want to do or have or say, they are by and large terrific people who I’d want to know even if they weren’t mine. They’re funny and smart and have far more confidence than I ever had at their ages.

Plus, they’re hilarious. I have to share this haiku my 15 year old made up when she was recalling a “free kittens” ad in the newspaper:

Bill has free kittens.

Cats are fun to barbeque –

fate of the kittens.

I laughed for a good ten minutes after she recited this at dinner – I nearly choked on my food! – and now all you need to do to set me off giggling hysterically is say, “Fate of the kittens.”

~four~

One of my 15 year old’s favorite things she got for her birthday was this Chastity Ring. It’s a rose bud (and yes, she quoted Citizen Kane when she put it on). I can’t even tell you where I found it, because I searched through half a dozen online stores before I found someone with this particular ring in stock in her size. She’s wearing it on her left ring finger, to keep on (except for soccer games) until a worthy man puts something else there.

And she loves it.

~five~

Wow. Just saw this on Elizabeth Scalia’s blog. I don’t know every answer to her quiz, but I am horrified that high school graduates are this ignorant about the Holocaust.

It’s just plain difficult to watch. How can we not be teaching about this important part of history? How can we already be forgetting?

~six~

Teaching middle school CCD classes has been interesting. We are a team of 4, teaching grades 6-8, using Edge. Well, I say that last part a bit lightly. We are using the basic structure of Edge and adding a lot of information and meat to the curriculum. So far, none of the kids’ heads have imploded from it, and we’ve managed to talk about the Rosary and Our Lady, grace and the Sacraments, and Original Sin. We’re getting into the Sacraments more deeply over the next couple of months, beginning with my overview lesson on what the Sacraments are on Sunday. Our hope is not only to give the kids some solid information and catechesis, but to also show them the beauty of our faith and help them encounter Jesus on a personal level. I want them to be intentional disciples!

~seven~

“Hello, I’m a goofy-looking fellow in a floppy hat with a 13′ scarf!”

Our family got completely hooked on Doctor Who about a year ago. I remembered back in high school, my nerdy, sci-fi, geek friends told me that I would love it. “Oh, it’s on PBS! You would love it! It’s so cool!” So I turned it on and saw this guy wandering through badly-lit corridors with a lot of smoke and some chick and I was so clueless and had no idea what was going on.

I gave up after watching about half an episode, and determined that I hated Doctor Who. (Mind you, nothing that looked even remotely as exciting as half of the above happened in my short experience. Remember: smoke, corridor, girl, weird scarf.)

However, I have been converted. It took about three episodes of the reboot of the series (available on Hulu Plus and Netflix) to get me into it. It took my husband about five episodes. It took our girls half of one. It’s much easier when you have some clue as to what the show is about. So allow me to sum up:

The Doctor’s TARDIS

A time traveling alien (who looks human) travels around in a spaceship that disguises itself. Back in the 60’s, it’s disguising mechanism got stuck on a British Police Call Box. The inside of it is most definitely not a Police Call Box. The Doctor likes to have company, so he brings along human companions. They battle scary aliens, helping people throughout time and space. The Doctor also “regenerates,” so when one actor is finished playing him after a few seasons, a completely different man can take over. (It’s quite clever, actually; they started it when after a few years of extreme popularity, the first Doctor took ill and had to be replaced. Regeneration was invented so they didn’t have to try to find someone who looked like him.)

If this doesn’t sell you, how about this image from one of the shows? Arthur Weasley with The Doctor, riding a triceratops in space:

Arthur Weasley and the Doctor. On a Triceratops. On a spaceship. Outrunning robots. What’s not to love?

Okay, he’s not playing Arthur Weasley in the show. But all I could think of while I watched this episode was, “This is quite possibly one of the most epic things I’ve ever seen.”

So, anyway. Back to our obsession. We finished everything on Netflix, which did not include any of Series 7, and our children took their money and bought iTunes gift cards in order to buy that. The 50th anniversary of the first Doctor Who show is November 23, and they are psyched up to be able to watch the special, which opens the new season. (I hear our library has gotten permission to have a Doctor Who event and air it, but I haven’t confirmed that myself.) We plan on attending, perhaps dressing as characters from the show–or at least those under 20 will be.

But the rumors that we’ll all be Doctor Who characters for Halloween is completely true.

†††

Have a super weekend, everyone! And don’t forget to check out the other Quick-Takers at Jen’s place!

Seven Quickies: Hobbity Edition

