Small Success Thursday: Homeschool, Old-Fashioned Religion, and Free Stuff!

Welcome back to the CatholicMom.com linkup for Small Success Thursday! Join in the fun, celebrating the things that have happened this week that make us thankful. Sometimes, it’s the little things that add up the most!

My Small Successes this week?

Leonardo_da_Vinci_-_Self-Portrait_-_WGA12798-1

“Tell that Brown person to leave me alone!”

My older daughter plowed through The Da Vinci Code the other night in a few hours. In addition to the laughable “theology” in the book, she was frustrated at the poor writing. (“He couldn’t think of any other way to describe Langdon’s smile but ‘lopsided’ or ‘slightly awkward.’ ALL THE WAY THROUGH THE BOOK! Seriously, dude, get a thesaurus!!”) Then she picked up The Da Vinci Hoax the next morning and got halfway through that when she was far too agitated by the ridiculous heresies and the “reasoning” of those who supported them. One lady said that it had to be true – after all, there were so many books, plays, and movies like The Last Temptation of Christ and Jesus Christ Superstar. How could it NOT be true? “If that’s the way you judge things, then animals must be able to talk, because there are all these books and plays and movies about talking animals!”

Why is this a success for me? Because recently I’ve had doubts about how well I’ve done homeschooling my children, both academically and in relation to religious education. I prayed fervently when we started the adventure that I’d be able to pass on a faith that I was still struggling to understand. I was unsure if I would be able to help my children learn about our Catholic faith and the reasons why we believe things. For my 15 year old to be able to look at these arguments and pull them apart at will means that God has helped me accomplish what I would never have thought possible. My girls have a better grasp of the Faith than I had at 28.

No Slapping

†††

We got a date for said same 15 year old’s Confirmation! And it turns out that it’s the same week as our younger daughter’s Spring Recital for dance!! Not everyone can stay until the following Sunday, but we’re definitely going to include that information in the official invitations and see who wants to make it a double-header. I’m really excited that nothing seems to interfere with anything else, and that we’ll be able to have our daughter Confirmed with her friends at our parish.

(Hmmm … is that a success for me, or just a good thing that happened? No matter – there it is!)

†††

I have been very patiently saving up points on MyPoints for more than a year. I’ve done some shopping through the site, printed coupons, answered surveys, and clicked through on emails. I have recommended the site to my friends (which also gives me credit when they make purchases through the site). And now, I have enough points that I can get $100 worth of gift cards for the local movie theater chain. This is huge, because there are approximately 3,892.7 movies we want to see between now and Christmas, including when we take our priest friend (our former pastor) to see The Hobbit in December. If you’re interested in it, leave me a comment and I can send you a referral link. I love the program, especially when it means free movies and dinner out for us!

**********

Small-Successes-320x3221

How about you? Have you had Small Successes this week? Share in the comments here or at CatholicMom.com, or if you have a blog, share the link to your own post about it. Tweet and post to Facebook with the hashtag #SmallSuccess, and let us celebrate with you!

3 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday: Homeschool, Old-Fashioned Religion, and Free Stuff!

  1. I’m glad you let her read it. My uncle is a priest and he said, way back when there was all this kerfluffle about the book, that it’s a fiction book–and as long as you keep that in mind, go ahead and read it. I haven’t bothered reading it, because you’re not the first to complain about how poorly written it is, and I’ve got plenty of well-written books to keep me busy. But my older son read it. Again, there’s no problem with him separating fact from fiction, so it’s all good.

    Like

    • The funny thing is, she didn’t exactly ask. She just read it, probably figuring it was easier to ask forgiveness than permission. 😉

      I’m glad she was mature enough to see through the awful history as well as the bad theology. Yay for good Catholic history books!

      Like

Comments are closed.