Small Success Thursday: More Running, Shy Kids at Theater Camp, and Mr. Nezzer in My Garden

Welcome to Small Success Thursday, hosted by CatholicMom.com. Pull up a chair, grab a cup of coffee, and head over to check out all the other posts. If you blog, share your successes for the week. Otherwise, feel free to tell me about it in the comment boxes below!

20140710-094347-35027386.jpg

I’ve continued to run, and I find that I’m enjoying it a bit! Mind you, when I’m approaching the end of my Couch to 5K runs, I am usually thinking, “I AM NEVER DOING THIS AGAIN!”, but when I’m finished, I feel so good about my accomplishments that I know that isn’t really true. I had some new personal records this week, though I admit my best mile time was quite a bit of downhill running. But I did another 5K while my 13 year old was at ballet on Tuesday, and I did it in a shorter time than the one the week before. As a matter of fact, I beat the old PR by 3 minutes. BOO-YAH!!

20140710-094609-35169035.jpg

Keep in mind that I couldn’t make the half-mile walk up the hill on our street 6 weeks ago without stopping to rest, and I couldn’t even talk to anyone before I made it halfway up. And now I regularly run in 2 mile stints, and try to do a 5K when my daughter is in her longer dance class.

By the way, did you notice I said “my 13 year old?” That’s because our younger daughter entered the teen years on Monday. And she spent her birthday at theater camp. This is her first year, though she qualified to start it 5 years ago. At the end of the second day, the camp instructors (one of whom has been her tap teacher since second grade) said, “She’s a natural! Why hasn’t she been here for the last five years??”

20140710-100233-36153249.jpg

Well, the big reason she hasn’t gone is that she was so painfully shy, she couldn’t imagine doing it. Last year, we almost had her convinced to go, but she just couldn’t bring herself to do it. Before that, she was dead-set against it. We’re talking about a child who needed four years to feel comfortable enough to talk to girls in her dance class, and contemplated for nearly a month about which girl was friendliest and might be a good friend to have.

I can’t wait to see how she shines in this production. We’re just so proud of her.

Project Yummy Veggies has been going great so far. I haven’t really done updates at all this year, but I’ve been able to harvest several zucchini, and the Better Boy tomatoes are looking FABULOUS! I shouldn’t have pushed it, trying to grow Rutgers tomatoes (which are the best in the world) in our soil; they’re just not suited to our clay-laden dirt. My cucumbers started out looking great, but they’re just sort of petering out. I might have to give up on those. But my bush beans (green beans) are looking nice, and I think I’ll be picking some of those tonight or tomorrow.

20140710-095831-35911667.jpg

Now it’s your turn! What are your successes, big or small, this week?

4 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday: More Running, Shy Kids at Theater Camp, and Mr. Nezzer in My Garden

  1. Congratulations on a great week. Those veggies look awesome. We’re just harvesting our green beans now, and watching that pumpkin grow. If you don’t own the Victory Garden cookbook, I recommend it as a great source for cooking vegetables, Rattatouie, grilled squash, and my favorite, squash-dried cranberry and/or cherries mini chocolate chip cookies —they have a cake like texture and a hint of spice, very yummy way to use up squash when the kids won’t eat it.

    Like

  2. Awesome job on your running times! I am a runner (sort of), too. I joined a mom’s running group last summer. I don’t love it, but it is very rewarding afterward! 🙂 I’ve done 2 5Ks, but to do it on your own is amazing! I’m not that motivated; I need others around me to keep me going. My oldest (11.5) was just in a play, and she loved every moment of it. I hope your 13yo enjoys her acting camp and performance!

    Blessings!

    P.S. When I clicked on your link over at CM, it seemed broken, so you may want to double check it! Just thought I’d let you know …

    Like

    • First, thanks for the information about my link at CM. I’ll go get it fixed.

      Second (and I’m working backwards here), I’m lucky NOT to be doing it alone, though I do run alone a lot during the week. My husband started running almost 3 years ago, and ran the Richmond Marathon last November. He’s encouraging me, and he’ll go for runs with me, too. Last weekend, we ran the hills in our neighborhood, and he gave me lots of support. He teases that he doesn’t need headphones or music because I’m entertaining to run with. I talk to myself A LOT, and when I got a stitch in my last .2 on Sunday, I started yelling, “NO! GO AWAY STITCH! NO!!!! STOP IT!!!!!”

      Another time, I hit my power song and the Star Wars theme started, and I said, “I’m running like a rebel! I’m gonna do the Kessler Run in under 12 parsecs!”

      I’m a real dork.

      Like

      • That’s SO awesome that you have such an encouraging husband! That is GREAT!! I am impressed that you run alone during the week, though. I am just not there yet, but that’s OK, I guess! Now that I’m actually a (sort-of) runner, I am even more amazed when I hear other runners’ progress, because I really, truly know how hard it is! Keep it going! 🙂 You’re inspiring!!

        Like

Comments are closed.