Small Success Thursday: Research, Writing, Green Braces, and OP3!

Welcome to Small Success Thursday. This is our chance to take stock of our week and notice the little things that have gone right. This shindig is hosted by CatholicMom.com, and you should head over there to check out the other Small Success posts and cheer everyone on!

20140724-074609-27969516.jpg

My life seems to have been non-stop since mid-June. Not only are we still doing school, but the girls have gone on vacation with my parents, we’ve had two weeks of theater camp, a week of VBS (to end tomorrow), and my younger daughter has had two dance classes each week for the last five weeks. (She’ll finish next week.) In spite of this, I’ve managed to help my high schooler make good progress on her work, especially her research paper. The week before last, she finished all of her research, and this week, she’s written her first draft. (Okay, so she has a couple of paragraphs left to write today, but I’m confident she’ll get it done, seeing that a trip to the mall and a Summer soccer practice hang in the balance.) Once this big project is turned in for grading, the rest of her work will seem so much easier.

Next up is my 13 year-old. She got braces this week!

20140724-074632-27992642.jpg

She’s glad to finally be moving towards straight teeth, in spite of the pain she’s had since she got them put on. What’s really funny is that when she was younger, she was very self-conscious about how crooked her teeth were coming in. She told me that she didn’t like to smile when she was about 9 or 10, and that really bothered me because she has a great smile that can light up a room. She’s a happy, cheerful, and sweet-tempered girl who is so much fun to be around, and it broke my heart to hear her say that she didn’t like her smile. I reassured her that she had a beautiful smile, and that most people wouldn’t notice her teeth. After that, I’d make a point whenever she laughed or smiled to tell her that I loved her smile, and that she is beautiful. Eventually, that self-consciousness went away.

Yesterday, I told her I was happy that she smiled so much, and that she wasn’t bothered by her braces. (I remember that a lot of people who had braces when I was a kid were very self-conscious and wouldn’t smile.) She thought that was a funny thing to say, and I reminded her that once upon a time, not too long ago, she didn’t like to smile because of her teeth. She didn’t remember that at all. How about that?

My final success this week is really not all about me. Our little group of Lay Dominicans who used to travel 2 1/2 hours every month to go to chapter meetings have started a local group, and this weekend is our first meeting where we’re open to Inquirers! I’m excited to help start this chapter, and I’m excited that we have a few people who expressed interest and will be coming to the meeting. Please pray for our little group to grow and flourish, and for the Blessed Virgin, St. Dominic, St. Mary Magdaline, and Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati (our patron) to guide and protect us in our new venture.

20140724-075845-28725848.jpg

Now it’s your turn! Tell about your successes this week in my comments or blog about it and link up at CatholicMom.com!

2 thoughts on “Small Success Thursday: Research, Writing, Green Braces, and OP3!

  1. You are busy with a lot of GREAT things!! Your daughter looks beautiful—with and without braces!! I hope she is getting used to them and she hasn’t been too sore. My children will need braces for sure, and a couple of them are impatient to get the process going … I have a couple daughters who are starting to be a bit self-conscious, too. They are beautiful, inside and out, and I pray they believe me when I tell them so! I hope that the new chapter to your group goes well, too! God bless your day!

    Like

  2. My oldest gets her braces OFF in a couple months. Yay! Love the green. Prayers for your group. God bless, and I hope you get a little relaxation soon.

    Like

Comments are closed.