Reblogged: I’m Like Chicken Man!

After learning that the Duchess of Cambridge is expecting again, and suffering again from hyperemesis gravidarum, I thought I would re-post this piece. For more on my background with HG, you can also read the following:

°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°

It’s because I’m everywhere!!

After a post on Facebook about how the news stories on Kate Middleton having hyperemesis really affected me (as in, I started crying over it), my good friend Barb asked me to share my experience with HG with a larger audience.

Even though I did not need another project right now, I knew this project needed me. I gratefully accepted, and this past Monday, my story appeared at The New Parents Guide.

The world is abuzz about the newly-pregnant Kate Middleton, wife to Prince William, heir to the throne of England. And yet, something different has come up with this royal pregnancy–something likely to be brand-new information to most people.

Kate is very sick – hospitalized, even – with something called hyperemesis gravidarum.

When I heard this news, I cried for the royal couple, because I know her pain rather intimately. I had hyperemesis gravidarum (HG) while pregnant with my own two children.

The press is describing it as “a severe form of morning sickness,” but this really doesn’t even come close to being an adequate definition. In fact, it’s pretty safe to say that unless you or someone you know has suffered through HG, you can’t quite imagine how awful it can be.

Let me share my own story:

Read the rest here.

My Older Daughter and I

