On This Anniversary: Above My Pray-grade

Last year, I talked about an experience I had in which I learned how to pray for my enemies. In today’s Gospel, Jesus commands us to not only pray for them, but also to love our enemies. It’s a difficult thing to do, but, then again, being a Christian is a tough thing to do, too.

**************************

Domestic Vocation

Powerful Prayer Powerful Prayer

On this day, I am reminded of an experience that led me to the ability to pray for my enemies and those who persecute me, as well as see them as children of God and deserving of love.

On an anniversary of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 (I think it was the fifth anniversary), I was watching a special on the terrorist attacks. Okay, maybe I watched several of them after the kids were in bed. I remember watching one documentary about the people on the planes which focused in on the phone call between Betty Ong and ground control, which ended this way:

…Still on the phone at 8:45, with the plane flying very low and ground controllers attempting to determine its location, she told them chillingly, “I see the water. I see the buildings. I see buildings.” After a pause, she said quietly…

View original post 690 more words

