Linkup! Meatless Friday Summer Picnic

Like a lot of Catholics, I’ve discovered Meatless Fridays. While I’m not bound to keep them (if I want to grow in holiness, I can choose a different kind of penance on Fridays), I like the old tradition of finding other things to eat each week. Barb has been running the Meatless Friday page at CatholicMom.com for a while now, collecting fabulous recipes from all over. This week, she’s got a Summer Picnic Linkup for Meatless Friday.

Since Nathan had a company cook-out today and is going to keep meatless at the same time (talk about penance!), I made this macaroni salad for him to bring for a side. But let’s face it, this is my go-to for any “bring-a-side” event. It’s originally my father’s recipe, so I call it Mac Daddy Salad. (Also, this name dates me in a big way, but who cares?)

If you prefer to try to eat light and healthy, this is a great side dish for you! I use low-fat or fat-free mayo, but grew up with Dad using the regular stuff. Oh, and the pink color? Don’t freak out. Dad’s color blind, and had no idea it was pink until someone pointed it out to him. But let me tell you, it packs a lot of flavor into every bite! (I have a tendancy to add even more seasoned salt when I eat it, but that’s me.)

If you’d like to get a printable copy, you can click on the link embedded in the title to find it at my Tasty Kitchen page.

imageMac Daddy Salad

Ingredients

1 pound Elbow Macaroni
1 whole Onion, Large (Vidalia Makes This Very Mild), Diced
⅓ cups Green Pepper, Diced
1 Tablespoon White Vinegar
1 Tablespoon BBQ Sauce
½ Tablespoons Fat-free Catalina Salad Dressing
½ teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon Paprkia
⅔ cups Fat Free Mayonnaise
1 Tablespoon Lawry’s Seasoned Salt (more Or Less, To Taste)

Preparation

1. Cook macaroni according to instructions on box, without adding salt or oils.

2. Combine all ingredients except the Lawry’s in a large mixing bowl and mix well. Add the seasoned salt to taste, stirring well.

3. Chill in the refrigerator before serving.

Note: for a little variety, you could also add the following (which my father has done at one time or another): allspice, thyme, marjoram, or Tabasco.

One thought on “Linkup! Meatless Friday Summer Picnic

Comments are closed.