Eternal Rest Grant Unto Her, O Lord…

Last night, as we were relaxing with a friend following Easter dinner, we learned that Mother Angelica passed away. We said a prayer for the repose of her soul, and left it there.

But this morning, it’s kind of hitting me. And I’m not really sad, because Mother went to meet her Divine Spouse. But I am feeling deeply grateful to Mother Angelica and EWTN. Watching EWTN was what began my adult catechesis. I would watch a show with Christine Franklin and Rosalind Moss and learn amazing things about the faith I grew up in. I learned about the Mysteries of the Rosary. I learned about saints I’d never heard of. I learned about the treasures of the Catholic faith that had been pushed aside by people who thought that bringing the Church to the world in the 20th Century meant changing her and making her less Catholic.

I’m grateful to Mother Angelica for a network that showed me that treasure chest of devotions and taught me some very basic things about my faith.

  
Eternal rest grant unto her, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon her.

May her soul and all the souls of the faithful departed, through the Mercy of God, rest in peace.

Amen.

